Are you Willing to Take the Risks?


I joined the dance/tambourine practice again for I wanted to glorify the Lord in many ways (even though I am pretty bad at dancing) and also because I have been drifting away again. I start to pray less. and I feel like my boat swayed too far (if I would describe it in a poetic way). So, I joined the dance practice, and like before, I had lots of fun! Remember the quote I made?

Whatever you do, when you do it for the Lord, NOTHING is boring.

Credits to: Wikimedia

Credits to: Wikimedia

 

After the practice, me and my friend were following our Aunt to her car [she   was our ride home], and as we were following her, we came across a poorly dressed and diseased man, who is obviously in need of help. He outstretched his hands- gesturing that he needed money- and showed the circle-looking lumps on his legs. Seeing this, I felt sorry for him, and made a move to get money from my bag (which was only 6 AED). As I was struggling to get my money, I looked back at him and saw him give a sly smirk which made me slow down and feel fear of what might happen, so you know what I did? I just passed by him and gave him nothing.

My friend kept talking about how bad she felt for the man and that she could’ve helped him if only she had money, and then I felt this small pang of guilt ringing in my stomach. The thought of helping him kept on nagging me over and over and over, and I thought ‘I should’ve helped the man, even though he was a fake beggar or a real one- I need to learn how to love and touch his heart’

When I reached home, we had a bible study and our topic was about LOVE and the Secret to Kindness (40 days of Love by Rick Warren). Somewhere in between the topic, the word “FEAR” caught my attention. FEAR.

1 John 4:18

There is no fear in love. But perfect love drives out fear, because fear has to do with punishment. The one who fears is not made perfect in love.

Sometimes, we have these FEARS of being killed, or the thought of being kidnapped, etc. and these fears, hinder us from kindness, from love. And sometimes, we just ignore the people in need because we think that, if we stay out of their problems, we wouldn’t be reminded of our own brokenness.

You have to be willing to take risks and think of others, before yourself. But then, at the same time you have to be aware and use your common sense. For example, it is the middle of the night, and a man is begging for help- who knows- he might have a gun in hand- so the most humane thing to do is call the police or call some friends who could help the man, do NOT do it by yourself. But if it really is an emergency and you have no signal, Do what you can, when you can and TAKE ACTION. 

Until now, I feel like I have disappointed the Lord, that I could’ve helped the beggar. But now that I have learned about Love and Kindness… I am willing to take the risks. The question is, are you?

Leave a Reply

