Will Animals go to Heaven?


Now this topic was really hard for me to grasp in as a Christian. I love animals. They are my second love, music first, writing third. But now that I know about Jesus and His unconditional love for us, He became my first love- though that is kind of impossible since music was my first love- but you see? nothing is impossible with God. See what I did there? *wink wink*

Anyway, the question “Will Animals go to Heaven?” first began when my beloved rabbit, Maggie, died. She was very precious to me and for me to see her dead was horrible.

Maggie

My precious Maggie

I have asked these questions to my parents, friends, (I haven’t asked my Pastor yet) etc. and most of them answered “no” or “I don’t know” not one answered “yes”, so I was quite disappointed. I felt the same way (disappointed) when I heard that when we are in heaven, we wouldn’t see each other the same way again or feel the same feelings as we did on earth- whether we were in love, enemies, yada yada- we won’t feel the same way, but that doesn’t mean we would forget our feelings, but rather, think of each other as brothers and sisters in Christ.

At first, I was a little bummed. I wouldn’t want to lose the lovely feeling I would have if I had a husband, or see my parents as my siblings- it was a disturbing thought at first- but then, think of it this way… the only reason why we could lose these feelings in heaven is because, there is someone better. And that is God. Could you imagine? How powerful, beautiful, majestic, indescribable, God is? to be able to see your husband, your friends, your children, (etc.) as brothers and sisters? That’s incredible to me.

But I’m getting out of topic here (it happens all the time- so expect me to be typing about how I was supposed to be doing the laundry when the title is “About dogs”), the question is ‘Will Animals go to Heaven’?

The Bible indicates that animals will exist after His return and the beginning of the Kingdom as Isaiah 11:6-9 reads, “The wolf will live with the lamb, the leopard will lie down with the goat, the calf and the lion and the yearling together; and a little child will lead them. The cow will feed with the bear, their young will lie down together, and the lion will eat straw like the ox. The infant will play near the cobra’s den, the young child will put its hand into the viper’s nest. They will neither harm nor destroy on all my holy mountain, for the earth will be filled with the knowledge of the LORD as the waters cover the sea.”  Here is the Word of God declaring that animals will still exist in the future, after Christ’s reign begins. Ecclesiastes mentions that there is a “spirit” in man but also in animals in (3:19, 21) but this does not necessarily mean that it is an eternal spirit.

Revelation 19:11-14 indicates, for example, that Jesus returns to the earth with His army of saints on white horses, “I saw heaven standing open and there before me was a white horse, whose rider is called Faithful and True. With justice he judges and wages war. His eyes are like blazing fire, and on his head are many crowns. He has a name written on him that no one knows but he himself. He is dressed in a robe dipped in blood, and his name is the Word of God. The armies of heaven were following him, riding on white horses and dressed in fine linen, white and clean.”

“A more important question is if you, the reader, will be in heaven.  It is pointless to ponder the question of whether your pet goes to heaven if you yourself are not there. – Jack Wellman”

In my research, it is said that ‘nobody‘ knows whether or not animals will be in heaven. We could only find out, if we see for ourselves. I agree that it might worry you a little, that is- until I read this:

The elderly widow whose beloved little dog died after fifteen faithful years. Distraught, she went to her pastor.

“Parson,” she said, tears streaming down her cheeks, “the vicar said animals have no souls. My darling little dog Fluffy has died. Does that mean I won’t see her again in heaven?”

“Madam,” said the old priest, “God, in His great love and wisdom has created heaven to be a place of perfect happiness. I am sure that if you need your little dog to complete your happiness, you will find her there.”

…………………………………..

But I doubt we would even remember our pets once we see our Father in heaven, I’m kind of jealous with Moses, that He was able to see God’s mighty power and beauty. Isn’t it cool though? The bible said that His head and hairs were white like wool, as white as snow; and his eyes were as a flame of fire;

That must’ve been a/an- adjective- sight. Indescribable.

Sources: 

http://www.kingjamesbibleonline.org/Bible-Verses/

http://christianity.about.com/od/whatdoesthebiblesay/f/animalsinheaven.htm

http://www.whatchristianswanttoknow.com/do-animals-or-pets-go-to-heaven-a-biblical-analysis/#ixzz2aFlD6to2

Leave a Reply

