Pfft! Loving a person is easy! … Think Again.


Credits to owner

Credits to owner

I nervously entered the principal’s office to retrieve my report card, too nervous to concoct an idea of what to say so I just immediately asked for – well, for the report card. I mean, isn’t that why we were here?

Apparently, I forgot to greet her and say ‘Good morning’. Everyone knows it is somewhat rude to not greet someone, so no excuse there. What irritated me, was that the lady -which is our principal at school, I kinda forgot her name… didn’t know her name at the first place and I know that is kind of low of me but I really didn’t know her name, plus, I was too afraid to ask her… she might get more mad- didn’t take it too well. She barely smiled at me and scolded me at how rude I was being. I literally forgot was she said because I was so freakin’ scared!

Anyway, I apologized and tried to smile as much as possible- to show her that I didn’t mean to be so rude (and my first impression wasn’t so good either, don’t ask.) I was about to tear up, I mean, I know it was my fault- but at least be a bit more… I don’t know, genuine?

When I see her, my body tenses and I seem to lose my christianity- that was the worst part- Lord have mercy on me! I try to look at her in a different perspective, I’m trying, but trust me when I say- it is as hard as eating dog poo. I always told myself how easy it was to look at a person through the eyes of God. Now? it isn’t so easy. So I told myself, what could get more worse than this?

When she got my report card, underneath it was a certificate for “Most Well Behaved”! I mentally groaned at such irony. Why now? then chuckled nervously at the lady in which she returned with a feign smile. Ouch.

Credits to owner

Credits to owner

“Most well behaved, huh?” she said, probably thinking about how rude I was when I didn’t greet her.

“Hehe, yeap” I replied uneasily, forcing out a laugh. At least my teacher loves me.

When I got my grades, I was in content. My grades isn’t so bad. Answered prayer it is! But *sigh* I should’ve greeted the lady first, then she wouldn’t be hating on me like this. And another thing, I’m not so good with… is formalities. One time I answered the phone with a ‘Heylooo’ only to be replied with the voice of a serious business woman. I am such a disgrace to the serious world, seriously! The Principal kept asking random questions (which I don’t remember) and I answer with a ‘Yup!’ then remembering that she is the head- or somewhat the head- of the school and has to be answered with high respects so I try to cover up and say ‘Yes ma’am’ or ‘Yes Miss’.

And just when I thought the embarrassment was over… Hooo! It isn’t! Mom had to come check on me and you know mom. I was kind of relieved, but mostly nervous. She’s the carefree and happy-go-lucky type. Though I made a fault, that doesn’t mean that the principal has to hate on the whole family. As I was saying, mom entered without a greeting and grinned welcomely asking if I have retrieved the report card. The lady looked at my mom with an eyebrow raised and forced a smile, maybe thinking of how we (me and my mom) are so alike.

“Good morning” she greeted in a stiff and obviously annoyed voice, but my mom was oblivious to that and just smiled genuinely saying ‘Good morning’ back.

I tried to give mom a warning stare but she didn’t understand what it meant. I really really wanted to leave. And when our conversation finally ended a man knocked at the door and guess what? The woman SMILED AT HIM! I couldn’t help but silently observe her actions and grow suspicious. To men, she is nice, but to- Nah. Maybe he is a friend or something. But he definitely didn’t greet her or anything. Sigh, I really do need to learn how to love. Because honestly? Loving someone, is harder than I thought.

I just wish that the woman could smile genuinely at strangers who lack respect and treat them nicely even though they are rude. Maybe she is just trying to keep professional? I hope she is, cause I really wouldn’t want to see her glaring at me if we spot each other at the mall.

*Shudder*

One thing I know is that if Jesus was here, He would smile lovingly at her and do the opposite of what I would (want) to do. Though I am kind of annoyed just by writing this, but I couldn’t help but think of how amazing God’s love is for us. To love… her especially. I guess, I shouldn’t be hating on the lady. She might be nice for all I know. All I need is patience, control, lots (and I mean LOTS) of love, and the help of the Lord to gain her friendship and genuine love.

PS. I want you guys to pray for me, so I could be able to love more and have a closer relationship with the Lord and also pray for the lady (principal) so that she would learn to forgive me and love others.

Matthew 5:44

 But I tell you, love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you,

Leave a Reply

