The Man who Left with Treasures.


Matthew 19:21

Jesus said to him, “If you would be perfect, go, sell what you possess and give to the poor, and you will have treasure in heaven; and come, follow me.”

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

I do not own this photo

I do not own this photo

Me and my dad spotted a black cat sitting on a dumpster. As we sat there watching the cat, a young looking man grabbed our attention. He held two, large plastic bags in his left hand and the other hand to collect things from inside the bin. I watched slightly interested at how he poked his head in the garbage bin, trying to search for something. I continued to observe this man with my dad, trying to know what he was looking for. It was then that we found out, when the man held out two small cans and shoved it in one of his plastic bag. It was also then when I found out that he was collecting those cans for money, and it was then when I figured out that, that was how he could earn them.

I suddenly felt pity for the man. I felt the urge to help him collect those cans, give him money, hug the man (no matter how unclean he is), and I even thought to myself ‘Even though the man might hate me, or might be rude- I don’t think it will ever banish the feeling that I am feeling right now’. I actually like this feeling- not ‘pity’ but the feeling that I am describing to you right now. The urge to help. Kindness. Love? Maybe. I like feeling this feeling. It makes me feel like I am… not heartless.

“Even if he fill those plastic bags with cans… do you think he’ll spare enough money?” dad asked, breaking the indescribable silence. I just shrugged to dad’s question, not knowing the exact answer. We stayed silent for a few minutes, still watching the man. “Do you think God will bless him or reward him for his perseverance?” dad continued suddenly. I shrugged again “I guess, It depends on his intentions…” I said slowly, thinking if my answer was right. “But God is a good God” I added and dad just nodded, saying “May the Lord guide him to the right path…”

After a few minutes, I was typing down what just happened on my phone so that I could share with you guys (like what I’m doing right now) while the man was still there, collecting cans. All of a sudden, dad opened the window of his car and called out to the man whilst handing out some money. I don’t know how much and after debating with myself, decided not to ask him. But either ways, I felt proud of my dad and I know God is too. The young man thanked my dad and left with two bag full of cans and dad’s gift.

“He left darling…” my dad said softly as he watched the man leave “with treasures.”

I faced my dad, my heart filled with awe and admiration. I then told to myself that I’m going to be just like my dad one day. I looked at the man once more. “He’ll get his own money from the hard work he gets, not by just asking”

We left the place and drove home, we spotted the same man, still collecting cans from a different bin. “He’s still there, he’s not stopping” dad observed. I smiled, he was a really hard working man. I start to wonder if he had a family of his own.

I felt so much ‘feelings’ for the man- and if I said this to my friends, they might joke about and tease me- but I’m serious here guys. I do not know what God wants for this man, but I hope and pray that he will see the Lord’s goodness and greatness and love for him, and that he may do the same…

Leave a Reply

