When You Feel Like You Aren’t Smart Enough…


School’s back everybody! The last two months has been an adventure for me. Quite a lot of things had happened in those two and a half months. Like Joining the music ministry, the VBS, sleepovers, birthdays, etc. and there are still LOTS more to come. On the month of October our church will be celebrating it’s 7th Anniversary! Praise the Lord! It’s weird how time flies so fast, and yet at the same time, it feels so slow… because school has returned my friends. And I’m starting to fuss all over the home works, quizzes, tests, exams, and they haven’t even started yet!

I made a post about overcoming this stress in HERE, for me and for all of you, but somehow, the worries and doubts all seem to crash back down. And I want to end that. You see, when I entered the classroom all of my former school mates were there, so there wasn’t really anything to be nervous about on the first day of school. Thing is, ALL of them… are smart. Well I don’t mean to brag, but you are at the top class, so that means you’re smart too right? 

I’m blessed to be at the top section and honored that God has answered my prayers and all. But I suddenly felt like I wasn’t smart enough. It’s like turning popular, but you just want more. And that’s what I’m afraid of, I’m afraid of doing something that is good- for my sake only. But what I really want, is to do it ALL for GOD. So this is where the story of Solomon starts…

I do not own this picture

I do not own this picture

2 Chronicles 1:7-13

7 That night God appeared to Solomon and said to him, “Ask for whatever you want me to give you.”

8 Solomon answered God, “You have shown great kindness to David my father and have made me king in his place.9 Now, Lord God, let your promise to my father David be confirmed, for you have made me king over a people who are as numerous as the dust of the earth. 10 Give me wisdom and knowledge, that I may lead this people, for who is able to govern this great people of yours?”

11 God said to Solomon, “Since this is your heart’s desire and you have not asked for wealth, possessions or honor, nor for the death of your enemies, and since you have not asked for a long life but for wisdom and knowledge to govern my people over whom I have made you king, 12 therefore wisdom and knowledge will be given you. And I will also give you wealth, possessions and honor, such as no king who was before you ever had and none after you will have.”

13 Then Solomon went to Jerusalem from the high place at Gibeon, from before the tent of meeting. And he reigned over Israel.

I recall asking God one night, to make me smart and have lots of friends (that’s what I said, but God knows what I meant by “lots of friends”- popularity) but- after thinking it through- is that what I really want? I mean, sure that would be a great blessing to earn but- is it something that would make me happy forever? I don’t think so. I felt a little jealous with Solomon when God asked him to “Ask whatever you want me to give you“. That’s like, a HUGE honor! If I hadn’t known about wisdom, I might have asked for something very self centered. Solomon here, even though he wasn’t all smart and intelligent he had humility, wisdom, and a caring heart. He wasn’t thinking all about himself, but instead he thought about God and his kingdom.

Being smart doesn’t matter, but heeeeey! That doesn’t mean you shouldn’t try studying harder. You might say to your parents, “Mom! if being smart and intelligent doesn’t matter, then why do we have to go to school?”

Because it is said in the Ten commandments that we must obey our Father and Mother and the will of the Lord. That question wasn’t really necessary but that was what my sub-conscious asked 🙂 Don’t worry girls and boys! God loves you for who you are ❤ and when you feel like you aren’t smart enough?

Just pray and study hard!

 

Leave a Reply

