The Big Black Moth || Fear


The big black moth and me. Me holding a food cover as my shield and a tennis racket as my weapon. My sister was in my room asking me if I killed it yet. Unfortunately, I’m not the killing type. Poor moth has a life to live, a purpose, going into other people’s house and scaring the poop out of them… to help them fight their fears of course! It’s a silly thought, but it makes sense.

In the process of waiting and thinking and staring at this ‘enormous little’ moth, a still small voice told me “Do not fear, for the Lord is with you” and I kept repeating this to myself, telling the Lord “Okay okay, I’ll do it” but the more I get closer to the moth, the more I see how big and scary it is. I backed out and apologize to God for the lack of trust. “Why does it have to be so big?” I whined.

The Lord was testing my faith, and I knew that- but I was just focused on the moth. Man, that’s one huge fly. Anyway, I think God knew that I wouldn’t be able to trap the moth so He brought daddy home just in time. And you know what? He calmly took a small plastic bottle, cut it into half and trapped the moth, covering the bottle with paper, opening the window, and setting it free. It was that simple. For dad, the big black moth was simply nothing more than a small black fly.

Dad was aware of it’s size, he must have been scared at some point. But somehow he knew that it had to get out of this house and flee. As I pondered on this little incident, the big black moth resembled fear. Who of you have big black moths in your life? and how did you conquer it? or are you yet to…?

Leave a Reply

